Latest Publication

more

Kohl will be launching its issue 6.3 on Queer Feminisms, with Sara Ahmed as discussant. The webinar will include an opening by Ghiwa Sayegh and Sabiha Allouche, the issue’s co-editors, as well as presentations by four of our authors, Sarona, Aya, Ahmed, and Nour. It will be moderated by Sophie Chamas.

You can read the issue at this link

The event will take place on February 25, 2021, at 12pm EST, 5pm UK time, 7pm EET.

Tickets will be released on EventBrite on Friday, February 12 at 3 PM Beirut time / 1pm UK time / 8am EST.

Once the sales start, you can either register for free, or make a donation to our journal to support open source publishing.

Please note that the event will be in English. Seats are limited.
For inquiries, please contact comms@kohljournal.press

*artwork by Theo Louk

Our Films & Videos

Hani Al Sawah's (aka Al Darwish) second album “MALAHI” (Arabic for “Temptations”) now available on Youtube.

The music album, a project in collaboration with the Heinrich Boell Beirut Office, tells the story of how the years of conflict in Syria has influenced individuals’ way of thinking regarding revolutions, war and politics, and their implication on the day-to-day lives and relations including ideas of identity and belonging.  

More Videos

Perspectives Issue #15 - Unboxing the Game: the Obvious & the Obscure

Dossier

Politics are brimming with metaphoric references to games – be it the famous “Great Game” as the diplomatic confrontation of great powers in Asia at the beginning of the 20th century was referred to, the understanding of strategic moves in a region as a “chess board,” war “theatres” or references to the “players,” the strong of them framed as “actors,” the weak as “pawns”, or the crazy ones behaving like “wild cards.”